Raw Superfood Brownie Bites

So it seems I’ve finally got a stable job set up here in Korea (knock. on. wood.). Unfortunately, our “normal person” hours of 9-6 p.m. are long gone now, and Luke and I are teaching 2-6 p.m. for now, and 2-10 p.m. in the future… which means, for me, lots of energy dips and tired times at work. I needed something to help me get through. Something strong and powerful. Something with enough protein and fat to satiate me, with some natural sugars for a little boost, and maybe some chocolate. Of course, some chocolate (as I might have hinted at earlier this week on Instagram..)

That’s when my superfood brownie bites were born:
IMG_4132

These are a great afternoon snack, I usually pack two and they’ll fuel me for my post-work workout, or later when I’m working late into the night I pray they’ll fuel me through all the cries of “teach-a!,” homework groans, and “upside-down” rides for the little ones. I hope.

I call them “Superfood” Brownie Bites because of their all-star ingredients: cacao powder and cacao nibs contain plenty of naturally-occurring antioxidants and some caffeine, coconut oil is a wondrous miracle (this probably deserves a post of its own) and an excellent source of healthy fats, and hemp seeds have got you covered for omega-3s and extra protein. Chocolate is a super-delicious food too, if that counts.

Raw Superfood Brownie Bites (gluten-free, vegan, dairy-free)

Ingredients:

1 cup walnuts, soaked 2-8 hours (see this post for soaking times and explanation), drained, and rinsed well

1/2 cup chopped, pitted medjool dates or date pieces

1/2 cup cacao powder

2 tbsp coconut oil

1 tbsp vanilla

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 cup cacao nibs

1/4 cup hemp seeds

Directions:

In a food processor, pulse the walnuts a few times to break up the big pieces.

IMG_4114IMG_4115



 

 

 

 

 

Next, soak the dates in hot water for 30 seconds to help soften them. Rinse, drain, and add to the food processor.

IMG_4116

Add ingredients up to salt into the food processor and pulse until the mixture starts forming clumps. Remove the blade and add cacao nibs and hemp seeds and mix together well.

Use an ice cream scoop or your hands to form balls. Store in the fridge (this way the coconut oil doesn’t melt and the balls stick together better!) for up to a week or in the freezer. IMG_4121 Use an ice cream scoop or your hands to form balls. Store in the fridge (this way the coconut oil doesn’t melt and the balls stick together better!) for up to a week or in the freezer. Munch throughout the day whenever you need some energy!IMG_4129

2 responses

    • Aww, thanks Suzie! 😀 I usually order date pieces from iHerb (they’re super cheap from Bob’s Red Mill)—but! there are a few places I’ve found them in Korea. In the Itaewon neighbourhood in Seoul at National Foods Mart or High Street Market you can buy some yummy medjools. In Daegu if you go to the Buk-bu Bus Terminal there’s an international area with a selection of Indonesian, Thai, Vietnamese, Indian, Persian, and more foods, including goodies like tempeh, coconut everything, dried mangos, and lots and lots of dates! There’s a guide on Buk-bu Terminal here (http://noksaeksari.blogspot.kr/2011/06/bukbu-bus-terminal-chinese-indian-and.html) though I do plan to write one of my own soon…

      Do you live in Korea too? Thanks for stopping by 🙂

Leave a Reply

