UnClassic Chocolate Chip Cookies: Two Ways

From when I was a little kid until when I was coming home from university, my mom had just one baking rule:

(for the record, that’s homemade almond milk)

No making cookies when children are present.

She’s not a greedy mum who wanted to eat all the cookies before we got home.

It’s not that she didn’t want us distracting her so that she’d forget the cookies in the oven.

It”s ’cause she knew if we were around, there wouldn’t be any cookies come out of the oven. D-oh.

We ate ’em all before they even went in.

Thankfully I never got samonella poisoning from the hundreds of raw eggs I must have consumed, and even MORE thankfully… there’s a kinda healthy, egg-free way to make some classic cookies.

And the best part?

The dough’s good to go.

(Not to mention packed with fibre and protein from the secret ingredient—good ol’ garbanzo beans, a.k.a. chickpeas.) But most importantly, you can eat it without risking dying. Even though I am, on certain occasion, willing to take that risk.

Chocolate Chip-pea Cookies (vegan, gluten-free, soy-free)

(inspired by Oh She Glows, adapted from Chocolate-Covered Katie)

Ingredients:

1.5 cups chickpeas

1/4 cup nut butter (I used almond butter)

1/4 cup oats

1/3 cup agave or maple syrup

2 tsp vanilla extract

1/8 tsp sea salt

1/8 tsp baking soda

1/2 cup chocolate chips or carob chips

Directions:

Blend all ingredients except chocolate chips at high speed in a food processor until very smooth (trust me, you don’t want any giveaway chunks in this recipe), then stir in the chocolate chips. Eat as is, scooped over ice cream, or served with graham crackers, OR…

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Use an ice cream scoop to shape dough into small balls and place on parchment paper. Bake for 20-25 minutes. Yum!

2 responses

  1. I just made these cookies, they are fabulous!!
    I was surprised how much all 3 of my children loved them even after I told them there was chickpeas in the recipe. Please post some more cookie recipes soon, how about an oatmeal raisin!!

    • Hi Sara,

      SO happy you enjoyed these cookies! And your kids too, it makes me very happy to hear young tummies and mouths are happy to eat a healthy made-over cookie!

      Sadly I’m currently living over in South Korea and so I don’t have the ingredients to make a bunch of cookies at my disposal, or else I would LOVE to take up the challenge! Maybe when I get back 🙂

      In the interim…

      Angela’s goodies are always spot-on! Here’s her recipe for vegan oatmeal raisin cookies:
      http://ohsheglows.com/2010/09/11/the-ultimate-vegan-oatmeal-raisin-cookie/

      And here’s a recipe for vegan oatmeal raisin cookies made with chickpeas (I haven’t tried the recipe but I know this is a popular blog so you should be set!)
      http://www.nomeatathlete.com/vegan-oatmeal-raisin-cookies/

      Good luck and enjoy a few for me, I need to get off these food blogs and stop drooling now 😉

Leave a Reply

