Summer-ized Winter Squash

Well hello, friendly readers! I do hope you’ve had a wonderful long weekend. And if you weekend wasn’t long, well I hope that this summer-y recipe can give you that long-weekend feel, at least for one meal.

Although my weekend wasn’t quite as sun-filled as the weather would have suggested, I did manage to squeeze in a solid session on the rooftop. And our patio is getting plenty of use—especially as a backdrop for all of the food photos that I will be taking with my new baby—I finally cracked down and invested in a little DSLR camera… though I do hope it is visibly obvious! (Well, rather, my birthday is approaching, and someone found me a worthy investment—one that will directly benefit you, loyal readers!) My new Canon T2i will be chained to my arm in all further travels, adventures, and food tastings. And if soon it’s covered in food slops from green juice and guacamole, I blame this blog. Not my eating habits and poor manners.

And of course, to show off my photography skillz, I’ve picked an incredibly unphotogenic dish. I made this recipe last night for a veggie-heavy summer dish. Though I don’t think these patties would stand up well to a barbeque, they do pan-fry quite nicely. Well, I assume they would if you have the patience to fry them on medium instead of high. If you’re unlike me.

Either way. I’d say my first Spaghetti Squash experience gleaned *great success,* and I do want to play around a little more with this as an ingredient.. especially now that its season is ending. Typical Kass.

Spaghetti Squash Cakes (vegan, soy-free, sugar-free, can be gluten-free with GF bread crumbs)

This recipe is my submission to Diet Dessert and Dogs’ Wellness Weekend. Thanks to Ricki for suggesting!

(adapted from Virtually Vegan Mama)

Ingredients:

1 spaghetti squash, cut in half lengthwise and stems removed

2/3 cup quinoa flakes

2/3 cups panko (or other bread crumbs)

1 tbsp canned chipotle sauce (add more to if you can handle it)

1 flax egg

1 tbsp coconut oil for frying

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400F. Place squash halves cut-side down on aluminum foil and roast for about 40 minutes until tender. Remove from oven and let cool about 10 minutes. Scoop out the “spaghetti” strands and place in a large mixing bowl. Add in quinoa flakes, panko/bread crumbs, chipotle sauce, flax egg, and salt and pepper to taste if desired.

Heat oil in a skillet or pan over medium heat. Form 8 patties with the mixture and fry for 5-7 minutes per side until cooked through and light and crispy on the outside.

Best drizzled with Chipotle Aoli or Avocado Cilantro sauce. Would go great with Sweet Potato Fries or on a soft bun. Noms.

7 responses

  1. Wow–this might even get me to like spaghetti squash! The cakes sound great. And I do think they’d be perfect for my Wellness Weekend event (which starts tonight at 8:00 PM EST). Hope you will link up! 🙂

  2. Hi again–
    I tried to respond to your DM, but you’re not following me on twitter. 🙂
    You actually have to include the URL of the current Wellness Weekend to enter–that’s why I mentioned that it starts after 8:00 PM tonight. After 8:00, the WW post will be up and you can link to it. There will also be a link to click so that you can enter your blog post. Sorry for any confusion!

Leave a Reply

