The Real Best Breakfast

*My new apartment is located almost directly above a small diner that so cleverly calls itself “Best Breakfast Place.” They serve slimy eggs, paper-towel-warranting bacon, and Texas toast at unheard-of-cheap prices, and ketchup out of No-Frills bottles, clearly purchased equally as cheaply directly across the street. Every time we eat there I usually leave feeling like a bag of smashed assholes. Thus, I present you: the real Best Breakfast.

Breakfast definitely is the best meal of the day—there’s nothing like that perfect mix of taste and satiety and the feeling that you’ve got something to power you through whatever you shall face in the next 16 hours. Unless dessert counts as a meal, of course.

My problem with breakfast? I’m always still hungry. (I guess that’s my problem most of the time.) But there’s no way I’m getting up an extra half-hour or so to cook oatmeal. I’m still working on the whole “morning person” thing.

So when Gena over at Choosing Raw posted this breakfast recipe last week, I knew I had to plot out my own version, ASAP. Though this breakfast’s not totally raw, it’s less cooked than your standard meal, and all the grains and pseudo-grains are soaked, making them easier to digest, so you feel satiated, but not bloated. Plus you can literally pour this bowl for yourself the night before, pop it in the fridge, then in the morning just stand and eat it, like, straight from the fridge. Gotta love fridge-eating. Total breakfast #win!

No-Sweat Overnight Oats 

(high raw, vegan, gluten-free if you use certified GF oats, soy-free sugar-free depending on your toppings)

Ingredients: – This list may appear intimidating but it’s totally customizable to your own tastes!

1/4 cup oats (I used steel-cut oats which are less processed than standard rolled oats)

1/4 cup quinoa flakes

1/4 cup chia cereal like Ruth’s or Holy Crap! brand, or 1/4 cup chia seeds

1 tbsp natural almond butter, cashew butter, or nut butter of your choice

1 banana, chopped

1 tsp hemp seeds

1 tsp sprouted flax

handful of walnuts

1 tbsp goji berries

1 tbsp cacao nibs

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1 cup unsweetened almond milk or milk of your choice

optional: crumbs saved from making Perfectly Protein Chocolate Almond Butter Bars

Directions:

Pour all ingredients in a bowl and place in fridge overnight. in the morning, use a spoon to transfer ingredients from bowl to mouth. Chew, chew, taste, swallow, enjoy!

7 responses

  1. Yes! Overnight oats are seriously “the” best breakfast..or maybe a green smoothie, but the fact that these oats are effortless in the morning puts a gold star in my book. I’ve even been eating these multiple times throughout the day because I am addicted..

    • Ha! Yes, absolutely. Now all you need to do is soak the oats in the green smoothie 😉 I actually did oats today with Vega powder and it was awesome, even more health-full and filling than my standard!

  2. Love overnight oats and Gena’s recipe! Nice variation – I have lots of quinoa flakes that need to be used up (and love Chia Goodness). I will definitely try this tomorrow for breakfast! I always seem to be hungry too after breakfast – I think morning workout contributes to that too?

    • Yes, morning workouts for sure – I always feel they get my digestive juices going 🙂 I’ve been adding buckwheat groats to my mix lately too for extra gluten-free goodness and staying powder! Hope you enjoy 🙂

  3. Whoa! Now that looks like a breakfast I’d enjoy. I’ve never been a breakfast/morning type of person, but when school kicks back up, I’m going to need to eat in the morning because my day will be jammed pack.

    I must say, I really love your blog. It’s inspiring me to eat healthier and steer clear of processed foods. 🙂

    • Aw, thanks Kai! That is amazing because that is EXACTLY my aim – it literally made my day to read that!

      And yes, overnight oats are GREAT because they travel well and are quite inexpensive! Great for students 🙂 And if you’re looking for a little extra sustenance you can always stir in some protein powder or extra hemp seeds!

  4. Pingback: Bye bye bap, hello best of both breakfasts | kale and kass (with a side of sass)

Leave a Reply

