When Snack Attacks: Banana Cacao Crisps

Well it was a bit of whirlwind weekend, what with a 22-hour trip to Phoenix, AZ to see the screening of a a documentary featuring my volleyball team’s philanthropic trip to Mexico this past December. It was a wow-worthy evening, worth the trip indeed, and I am sure to share the film when it is posted up online (soon!).

And with more than a few hours in transit, I’ve been on a bit of a snacking kick—and I’ve got a new favourite. I can’t wait for you guys to try these, they’re pretty much genius and are going to be added to my must-have-in-pantry-at-all-times-and-maybe-extra list. What, you don’t have one of those?

I first saw Julia on my strange addiction, Dragon’s Den pitching these raw, vegan crackers she’d made to pack in her bag while jaunting around to school at the IHN (where I still want to go!), to practices, and workouts. I was impressed when she won the Dragons over, and even more impressed when I tried my mom came and splurged on an eight dollar package of these treats for me. They’re amazing, and I wish I could afford to purchase them and support her growing business, but they’re a bit out of my budget. Which obviously means I needed to dissect them immediately.

When I recreated them at home, I tried to bring a few for my ma this weekend to evaluate. Unfortunately, they didn’t survive the plane ride… though I have no idea how.

Seriously. Make these.

Banana Cacao Crisps (raw, vegan, gluten-free, soy-free, dairy-free)

Inspired by Nudfud‘s Cacao Energy

Ingredients:

4 bananas, ripe

1/2 cup sesame seeds (optional to soak for 30 minutes prior for enhanced digestibility)

1/2 cup shredded coconut, unsweetened (preferably organic and unsulphured)

1/4 cup cacao powder

Directions:

Pulse all ingredients in food processor until combined (if you don’t have one, you could probably get away with mashing the bananas up with a potato masher or hands first, then mixing in the rest of the goodies). Spread on a cookie sheet covered with parchment paper and place in dehydrator or oven on lowest setting, or oven with door propped open a bit and dehydrate for 12 hours, scraping off and transferring, flipped, to a new sheet of parchment paper halfway through. (Alternatively, you could bake in the oven at 350 F until they’re crispy, but you will lose some of the nutritional quality at that heat.) Cut or break into desired size and store in a ziploc with some paper towel to absorb moisture.

Keep in purse/backpack/pocket for maximum all-the-time snacking. Alternatively, spread with some almond or coconut butter, use as a granola enhancer, or make a ridiculous dessert sandwich with some raw chocolate hazelnut spread (nutella IRL) and bananas. Okay, excuse me, I need to run to the kitchen NOW…

One response

Leave a Reply

