Crispy Carrot Crust Pizza Part 2: The Best Part

I have a hunch that much of the problem people have with the idea of vegan food is giving up cheese. For me, I can’t fathom the idea of never again having ice cream. That’s really all it comes down to.

Cheese is kinda ubiquitous though, and kinda necessary to make a lot of delicious conventional things. Grilled cheese. Pizza. Double-stack brie-and-avocado sandwiches… or maybe the last one’s just me.

Regardless. This raw vegan cashew “cheese” goes great with the aforementioned crust, just as well on a sandwich, on a bagel, or in some raw lasagna. Cashew cheese is nice and thick and creamy and while it’s not cheese, it’s pretty damn close. And it won’t give you the other not-so-nice side effects that often go alongside dairy digestion.. no details necessary.

This cheese is great because it’s got a healthy dose of probiotics—good to keep your gut flora balanced, especially if you’ve been on antibiotics like I have!

Red Pepper Cashew “Cheese” (raw, vegan, dairy-free, gluten-free, soy-free)

No picture, because it looks like… cream cheese. Adapted from Instructables.

Ingredients:

2 cups cashews
1/2 red pepper
1/2 onion
2 tbsp nutritional yeast/brewer’s yeast or “nooch” (optional)
1 tbsp garlic salt
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp ground pepper
3 capsules probiotic dissolved in 1 cup water (totally optional, adds to the fermented cheese-like texture and taste)

Directions:

Soak the cashews at least 4 hours. Drain cashews and blend separately in a food processor or blender until creamy. Blend in all additional ingredients. Strain mixture into a bowl or mason jar with cheesecloth, a nut mylk bag, or a soup bag and refrigerate for 6-12 hours or until desired firmness (I used about 8 hours).

You can shape and top with ground spices like goat cheese, put in a container and spread like cream cheese, or shape and set overnight in the fridge to act as a harder cheese. Of course, if you want to spread on pizza and top with tomato sauce and veggies, be my guest!

Yields: Deliciousness.

6 responses

  1. Thanks for all your labor on this website. My aunt enjoys participating in investigations and
    it is obvious why. Most people notice all relating to the lively method
    you give very helpful guidance via your web site and boost
    response from website visitors on this article then my girl has been discovering a lot of things.

    Take advantage of the remaining portion of the
    new year. You have been carrying out a really good job.

  2. S, according to news reports, to repair or adjust a chain inside the
    industrial pressure cooker oven, which is sizable at 54 inches by 36 feet, according to a person or the community.
    It was unclear Monday whether federal authorities in
    Detroit believe the case of the Saudi pressure cooker
    raised alarms. This easy recipe for making a sweet caramelized carrot puree or soup takes less than half an hour and is really delicious.

  3. I intended to draft you that very small note to help say thanks a lot
    once again with the incredible pointers you’ve discussed on this page. It is unbelievably open-handed of you in giving openly all a lot of people could have supplied for an ebook to generate some profit for themselves, and in particular now that you might well have done it if you wanted. These suggestions as well served to provide a fantastic way to know that most people have a similar dream similar to my personal own to see a good deal more with regards to this issue. I know there are numerous more pleasurable instances ahead for individuals who look into your blog.

  4. I have to get across my gratitude for your kindness
    supporting persons who absolutely need help on this one situation.
    Your special dedication to getting the message
    along had become unbelievably important and have in most cases
    made ladies much like me to attain their aims.
    This insightful hints and tips denotes a great deal a person like me and especially to my fellow workers.

    Thanks a lot; from all of us.

  5. First of all I want to say great blog! I had a quick question that I’d like to ask if you do not mind. I was curious to find out how you center yourself and clear your mind prior to writing. I’ve had trouble clearing
    my thoughts in getting my ideas out there. I do take pleasure
    in writing but it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes tend to be
    lost simply just trying to figure out how to begin.
    Any suggestions or hints? Thank you!

  6. Today, I went to the beach with my children. I found a sea
    shell and gave it to my 4 year old daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She placed the shell to her ear and screamed.
    There was a hermit crab inside and it pinched her
    ear. She never wants to go back! LoL I know this is entirely off topic but I had
    to tell someone!

Leave a Reply

