Snack Attack: Perfectly Protein Chocolate Almond Butter Bars

Between exams, starting a new job, and starting to (finally!) get my appetite back, I’ve been in quite the snacky mood lately. I like to keep grazing all day to keep my metabolism going and so that I don’t get super-hungry (read: hangry!) before mealtimes. I usually keep some Vega Bars or LaraBars in my bag, but that habit’s getting a little expensive, so I scoured the internet for a good snack bar recipe—and I think I’ve found something worth sharing!

Coconut sugar is a great natural sweetener because it’s low on the glycemic index, so it won’t spike your blood sugar and make you feel jittery. Plus the protein in these bars helps slow down the absorption of sugar, making them a great slow-release study snack that won’t give you the shakes. I picked some up at the Yoga Show a few weekends back.

I individually-wrap and freeze these puppies and pop ’em in my bag for an easy snack-on-the-go! Perfect combo of carbs, fat, and protein to sustain you until meantime, plus the chocolate provides a nice little mood-booster. Give ’em a try!

Perfectly Protein Chocolate Almond Butter Bars (vegan, dairy-free, soy-free)

Adapted from Joyous Health

Ingredients:

Dry:

3 cups oats (soak beforehand for a few hours to help with digestion. You can use certified Gluten-free oats to make this recipe gluten-free!)

1/2 cup sesame seeds

1/2 cup unsweetened organic shredded coconut

1 tsp cinnamon

1/4 cup organic coconut sugar

1/2 cup dark chocolate chips or raw cacao nibs (I used raw cacao nibs for extra superfood power!)

1/2 cup chopped walnuts (pecans or almonds work great too)

1 scoop chocolate vegan protein powder (You can add more if you want, though it will change the texture. This recipe gives ~3-4 grams of protein per bar)

Wet:

1/2 cup almond milk

2-4 tbsps pure maple syrup (to taste)

1 cup almond butter (peanut butter would work great too!)

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/4 cup organic coconut oil

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Combine all dry ingredients in a large bowl. Melt the almond butter and coconut oil in a saucepan until mixed. Add almond butter/coconut oil mixture and the rest of the wet ingredients into the dry ingredient bowl and mix until combined.

Grease a 9″ by 13″ pan (I used Earth Balance) and spread the mixture out, flattening with a spatula.Bake for 15 minutes, let cool a bit, score/cut into desired size, and transfer cut bars to a greased cookie sheet. Bake another 10-15 minutes. Transfer to cooling rack and enjoy!

3 responses

  1. Pingback: The Real Best Breakfast « hello my name is

  2. Sounds yummy (and easy!) I was at Costco yesterday (the best part of any suburb) and Lara bars are on sale! Just in case we don’t get around to making our own bars this week. It made me excited 🙂

Leave a Reply

