Untitled

Made some date squares today, too. It’s based off a recipe I stole from Whole Foods, but I’ve modified it so it’s a little more basic and wholesome.

I got some cheap bulk cooking dates in Kensington Market (instead of the delicious, gooey, pit-in Medjool dates I usually buy), some pecans, a bit of coconut and tossed it all in the blender. I added a splash of unsweetened almond milk so it could blend better, and an egg to make sure things hold together (though the stickiness of the dates is usually plenty enough!). Blended it all up, spread onto a cookie sheet and baked at 150 degrees for 10 or so minutes. Et voila! My own, pretty-much-free, energy-packed Larabars. Yum!

Leave a Reply

