Summer Love at the My New Roots Park Potluck

 

Hello readers! Hope you had a lovely weekend as I certainly did with eats at Belmonte Raw, Rawlicious, and the first-ever My New Roots potluck in Trinity-Bellwoods Park. My New Roots is a blog run by Sarah Britton, a Toronto-bred holistic nutritionist and vegetarian chef working abroad in Denmark. While home for the summer, Sarah B decided to invite all of her lovely readers downtown for a giant vegan potluck! Her blog features the most amazingly accessible recipes, absolutely fresh, divine, effortless photography, and a wealth of nutritional information to boot. I highly encourage you to check it out – it’s truly an inspiration, both visually and creatively, and I aspire to reach the likes of its greatness someday!

Sarah B spreadin the good food love this past Friday

I must admit, I was a little distracted by the overwhelming goodness of all the great food and beautiful company that I forgot to snap too many photos! There was an INCREDIBLE spread full of colourful, summery dishes. I picked up some wonderful tastes and great ideas and was delighted to spend some time in conversation with my friend Renee of the Shaman Kitchen Counsel.

 

this photo does not do justice to the great turnout had at the potluck!

There were lots of lovely ladies, a few good men, babies, blog readers, friends, delightful fruit-infused teas, cakes, and even raw vegan cheesecakes! Pretty much heaven on a few bright-coloured blankets. My only regret is not taking a photo of the spread to show you all :)

here is one of my 3 plates :) clockwise from bottom left – zucchini based pad thai, watermelon mint salad, raw veggie slaw, and a baby quinoa and sprout salad topped with a kale chip! so, so, SO good.

renee’s plate, featuring a purple cabbage and lentil salad, a radish and dill salad, marinated tempeh sushi, some divine sticky tropical black rice, a fruit thumbprint cookie, my raw macadamia and mission fig cookie ball, same baby quinoa and sprout salad as pictured above, and a marinated pasta and zucchini salad.

Sarah B has proposed putting together an e-book of all the lovely recipes brought to the potluck, so perhaps you shall have to wait, then, for the recipe for my little raw, vegan, and gluten-free macadamia and mission fig cookies? It’ll be published soon, after all :)


 

 

 

 

7 responses

  1. oh my what an amazing picnic potluck! i would have loved to attend too. this girl cannot turn down a vegan potluck invite! i’m a little out of the way, but am down to southern ontario every once in a while, so please keep me posted in case dates work out :)

  2. Pingback: Raw King Oyster “Calamari” (or Baked) « the taste space – steam, bake, boil, shake!

  3. Pingback: Quickie: Macadamia and Mission Fig Oatmeal Cookies | kale and kass (with a side of sass)

Leave a Reply

