A Salad My Own Size

My usual problem with salads?

Well… they’re salads.

What my grandpa refers to as bird food, and what are usually just not enough for my Hungry-Man appetite. The kind of appetite traditionally considered large enough only for a male. I’m 6 foot 2, and usually active, so that’s kinda my excuse.

That’s why I need a super-powered salad, packed with superfoods, plenty of protein, and lots of fibre to keep the stomach growlies away.

Now I can pick at something my own size: The All-Star Salad.

(although clearly what I need to be picking is the weeds on my patio. I’m sorry.)

I love Fresh (maybe a little too much)—I frequently try and redirect hangouts to one of their three Toronto locations, where green smoothies are acceptable appetizers, kale is abundant, and the cupcakes and cookies are irresistible. (Seriously. Everytime I walk away without one, it jumps into my mouth before I’m even out the door. It’s not my fault). I’ll admit I wish they didn’t use canola oil for frying, and I don’t believe they use organics, which is kind of a downer considering how much good stuff they’ve got going on—that said, of healthy on-the-go spots, this one’s still near the top.

Last summer, when the All-Star Salad was a special, I spent half my time dragging friends to go eat it with me, and the other half trying to recreate it at home.

(an early incarnation)

I’ll admit, it’s quite a lot of work for a salad… but that’s what makes it SO good.

So when Angela posted her version on Tuesday, and Fresh’s Newsletter mailed out the honest-to-goodness authentic recipe on Thursday, I knew all of the forces of god and goodness were coming together to tell me one thing: MAKE THIS SALAD. (It’s an important message for the gods to deliver methinks.)

And so I did.

Salads, you win. This time.

The All-Star Salad (vegan, gluten-free, high in protein)

(adapted from Fresh Restaurants newsletter, re-inspired by Oh She Glows)

Ingredients:

(I omitted the Tofu because a) I don’t love soy and b) this bad boy is already packed with protein)

Salad Mix: (you can store these leftovers together in a Ziploc with a paper towel to absorb moisture, just leave the goji berries out)

4 cups               Kale, washed, deveined, and shredded

½ cup               Parsley, chopped

½ cup               Cilantro, chopped

3 cups               Sunflower Sprouts (or other sprouts!)

4 tsp                  Goji Berries (raisins or currants will do in a pinch)

Quinoa Tabouleh:

2 ½  cups cooked quinoa

1/2 can adzuki beans, drained and rinsed

1/4 cup shelled edamame

1 tomato, diced

1/2 cucumber, diced

1/4 cup parsley, chopped

1 green onion, diced (the Fresh recipe calls for red onion)

3 tbsp olive oil

4 ½ tsp tamari

Toss everything together.

Grilled Sweet Potato:

Brush both sides of each slice of sweet potato with extra-virgin olive oil (or better, coconut oil) and cook in panini grill until tender. If you don’t have a panini grill, cook in 350 degree oven on a cookie sheet, turning once, until tender.

Toasted Nuts & Seeds:

Cashews

Sunflower seeds

Pumpkin seeds

Place in 350 degree oven for a few minutes until toasted.  Toss once or twice.

Directions:

For one salad, layer: a generous heap of salad mix, 1 scoop of quinoa tabouleh, a few slices of sweet potato, and a tbsp of toasted nuts and seeds. Top with dressing of your choice (I used Angela’s red-wine vinagrette)

Oh. And though it might not look it, this recipe was given the go-ahead by the original Hungry Man. Certified Luke-Approved.

Dude-approved.

4 responses

      • Thanks for the tip. I used to really like their grilled veggie wrap with some cheese – which I thought was pretty uniformly great but don’t eat the flour+cheese anymore… so I’ll definitely keep this in mind next time we head out to Fresh. :)

  1. Pingback: The Best Roasted Sweet Potatoes with Adzuki Bean and Quinoa Kale Salad « the taste space – steam, bake, boil, shake!

Leave a Reply

